a look back at my art

Today I am in an artistic slump…that no man’s land that skims furtively close to but distinctively away from the blank paper on my desk. And so, to a look back at art I have long ago completed to maybe get the creative juices flowing again…or at least to find a pulse. These were my first commission drawings. I’m a little embarassed to admit that because I can see in my more recent work that I have made many improvements in technique…improvements that would have made these much more expressive and dynamic. The graphite that I layed down in these is with such a timid touch. How long ago was this…maybe 8 years give or take. The photos of the originals are not of good quality either for that matter. Has this look back helped or hindered my creativity…hmmm?

Leave a Reply

