horse commission work in progress 5

I am really struggling with this one on a motivation level. I am plugging along and feeling very unsure of myself as I go. I’ve gotten a start on the wavy darker neck on this Appaloosa horse. It is actually an excellant breed of horse to render in a graphite drawing. There are textures and lights and darks and shades galore. Ordinarily I would relish the challenge, but, my confidence has taken a blow. I really need to shake of the ‘doesn’t do the horse justice’ thing and move on. I know I can do a good job on this…so I must just get at it. It takes a while to build up the layers of graphite to create the look of reality that I want to see. I think it is coming along okay in that aspect. I can do this!!!

Leave a Reply

