Dexter work in progress 4

I am still working on the depth and character of Dexter’s eyes. The reference photo is quite dark in the eye area so I have to create the look as I remember it. It is not a digital photo so the clarity is not great to work with but it will do seeing as I knew this little guy so well. I’ve started to create some texture on the top of his head. The hair there was very creamy, almost white so I really want to only suggest that it is there rather than attempt distinct individual hairs. Oh-oh, and I’ve been caught “grooming” his mustache as this graphite drawing takes shape. One side of his muzzle in the photo shows such signs of  “bed head” that, as a dog groomer, I simply could not let it go. As a graphite artist, I gave myself licence to groom. Mikey spotted it right away!

Dexter wip4

2 thoughts on “Dexter work in progress 4

Leave a Reply

