Sketchbook Project 2012-Sketch 1

I received my sketchbook for the Sketchbook Project 2012 a couple of weeks ago and have spent that time figuring out how I want  to proceed. The theme I chose is “I remember you”. It got me thinking about my affinity for animals. When I first met Mike about 4 years ago we went through the usual “getting to know you” stage through meeting and talking about each others friends etc. I stopped mid-introduction on one beautiful sunny afternoon…”and this is Danny”…to ask him if he thought it was too weird that all the friends that I had introduced him to had four legs. As a professional dog groomer, horse groom and farm sitter….I had a lot of four legged friends, in fact, way more of them than people. As I thought about my sketchbook project I made a list of all the animals that I have been good friends with over my life time. Well there are way more than 32 pages worth so I decided to narrow it down to ones that have passed away. What a wonderful thing to not only remember their names and how they looked but to actually feel the attachment I had for them again too.

My first sketchbook entry is Snoopy…and rightly so…she was my very first pet.

Leave a Reply

