Children’s Book Illustration

Here we go!  I have been asked to illustrate a series of children’s story books.  What a totally different direction for my art to take…I am thrilled.  There are challenges that come with this undertaking but, oh my, I am so up for challenges to my creativity.

The first departure from what has become the norm for my artistic expression will be the use of colour.  To date my art has been primarily graphite drawings but I am not inclined to stay stuck only in that medium.  The second departure is creating a detailed story-telling scene which I have proven to myself that I am capable of doing but to be honest mostly choose not to.  So, how shall I approach these challenges and most importantly meet them and overcome them?

While contemplating this small yet integral dilemma I have drafted up a series of rough sketches to follow the story line of the first in the series of books.  I have hung them in sequence in my loft to see how they flow with the story…I like what I see.  The next step is to transfer these sketches one by one onto “good” paper to be worked in colour.  I have good quality Bristol for pen and ink as well as cold press watercolour paper to choose from.

I have determined that pen and ink is my medium of choice for colour but of course mixed media is to be the most likely final outcome.  So coloured pencil and water colour will also come into play.  I have read that Photoshop to correct colour saturation etc is the way to go but I do not have that so I shall have to be old fashioned in that respect.

I have a number of style experiments to test out before I get right in to the final page production.  I am leaning toward simplicity of line to suggest the forms and content of the picture; I envision something akin to the simplicity of Chinese painting but not quite.

8 thoughts on “Children’s Book Illustration

  1. Congratulations, and kudos to you for tackling a project outside your comfort zone. I can’t wait to see what you do with this project – I’m sure it will be stunning!

  2. Wow, congratulations – that’s so awesome! Thank you for sharing. It’s really neat to be able to see the working progress as you go. Best wishes =)

Leave a Reply

