Dipping into digital art

pears-watercolor brush

pears-watercolor brush

pears-watercolor2

pears-watercolor2

pears-watercolor brush w/noise

pears-watercolor brush w/noise

Armed with a couple of library books: “Photoshop for Artists” by Sylvie Covey and “Digital Painting for the Complete Beginner” by Carlyn Beccia; I am now exploring how to use the painting tools using Photoshop.  I have chosen the three pears for their simplicity.  I have actually drawn and painted this same subject using traditional watercolors.  This has been a fun exercise and is helping me to get a grasp of how Photoshop layers, tools and filters work.  It is not as easy a task as one may like to imagine.  I am not sure if this is because I only have a mouse to maneuver instead of a tablet and stylus or what…but it is fun and I am starting to enjoy the results more and more as I practice.

pears-paint on texture brush

pears-paint on texture brush

pears-oil paint filter

pears-oil paint filter

 

4 thoughts on “Dipping into digital art

  1. These are beautiful! You’ve inspired me to experiment with filters. (You’re going to love using a tablet, by the way – I find it much easier than a mouse.)

Leave a Reply

