Rocking Horse

rocking horse (960x1280)I drew this Rocking Horse using my Cintiq tablet to practice using the tools in Photoshop.  It was great experience and I learned a lot as I progressed.  I had drawn this same horse in 1998 using graphite on Bristol and wanted to experiment with the Cintiq to see how close I could get to the original.  There were no major goofs.  This time I remembered to save, save, save and created different layers for different parts of the drawing prior to the final merge.

The major difference over all is generating the pointillism effect for the dapples…that needs some tinkering yet.  Also, I created a sepia tone background which looks kind of pink here…not sure how to solve that one but I’m sure there is a way.

Leave a Reply

